Film

Stand / Cross process of C41 Poundland Film in B/W Chemistry

Together in Death. Olympus XA2 (the 50p camera project). AgfaPhoto Vista Plus 200 (Poundland Film) C41. Developed in Rodinal.

I recently asked on a photography forum for a developing recipe to cross process C41 with b/w chemistry.  I was tickled, but a little chuffed, when someone answered by giving me a link to an old post about the subject …. from one of my own posts here on my blog!

I hadn’t cross processed Poundland film to b/w for a year or two, and when I did, I used Ilford ID11.  This time I wanted to use a rodinal / R09 developer, and I fancied stand processing.

For the Digital / N00b crowd.  What am I talking about?

  1. Cross Processing.  There are a number of different processes for film, and for printing.  The most common three are a) C41.  This is the process for developing colour negative film.  Some b/w films have also been produced that require C41.   b) E6.  This is the process for colour positive transparencies / slides.  c) True b/w negative.  The oldest process that is usually still done by hand rather than a photo lab.  Cross processing takes place when a photographer uses a process other than that intended by the film manufacturer.  Many Lomo photographers cross (both ways) C41 and E6 in order to get bizarre colours on prints/scans.  I am cross processing C41 Poundland film in b/w chemistry, because it is ultra cheapskate and tight fisted.
  2. Stand processing.  Hand processing film involves agitating or inverting a developing tank filled with a film, and diluted solutions of developer  at set intervals.  Typical dilutions for example for the rodinal developer are 1:19 or 1:25 of rodinal to water.  This moves the diluted developer through the film emulsions at a proven rate.  With Stand processing, you use much weaker dilutions of developer, and instead of regular inversions – leave the tank standing for a much longer time.  It saves on developer, allows you to have a meal or watch a movie, and is similar in some ways to slow cooking.  You can be several minutes out either way without disaster.

The stand process that I ended up using this time was that as suggested by the Massive Dev Chart for XP2 C41 in Rodinal / R09.

The recommendation was 1:100.  Yes, a pathetic 3 ml of Agfa Rodinal for a single 35mm film in my Paterson tank.  The recommended time at the optimum 20C was 120 minutes.  I put my used Poundland film in the tank.  Added the very diluted Rodinal, gave it several inversions, then sat it down with a few taps to dislodge air bubbles.

I then took Anita out to the local flea pit (cinema) where we watched the Pixel movie.  I returned maybe 130 minutes later.  Emptied out the developer, stopped, fixed, and rinsed.  Hung up the slippery brown thing to dry.

The above image is one scan.  I did enhance the levels a little on the scanned image, using Gimp software, but not that much.  I worked out that 3 ml of my Rodinal cost me about 8p (GBP £0.08).  The film a quid from Poundland.  Altogether, film, develop, fix, and scan cost me no more than £1.30.

Tight fisted?

One more thing.  This isn’t just about process and cost.  How does the image look?

Standard

12 thoughts on “Stand / Cross process of C41 Poundland Film in B/W Chemistry

  1. squonky says:

    It looks great! I’ve not tried Rodinal yet, would like to give it a try. It has been a while now since I shot any film (I know, I know) but I do have a few rolls ready to go – maybe into my Rolleiflex one day soon.

    Was it really 3 mg of Rodinal you used, not 3 ml? 3 milligrams sounds like a very small quantity indeed. I appreciate that’s the idea with stand developing, but 3 thousandths of a gramme?

  2. squonky says:

    So ml, millilitres? I’ll probably refer back here when I do get around to it 🙂 Would also like to try exactly what you did here, C41 processed with b&w chemicals. Your results show that this seems to be a great way to shoot b&w on the cheap! I’ll be off to Poundland next time I’m in town 🙂

  3. You’ve got much better results than when I tried it. I used HC110 and devd as if for HP5. Unusable rubbish.

    You’ve proved it can be done though.

    Being a simpleton, I like to stick with one developer for everything, but I might have to re-think that.

  4. Have processed Poundland film in D76 before using times for XP2 from the massive chart. Negatives were incredibly dark (though I was also having trouble with a sticky shutter on an eBay XA), though some scanned OK.

    • Hi Mark, to be honest, the next time that I used this system, the results were poor! It can be very hit or miss. Pretty much most b/w developers/fixers “could” work, but as I have said – a lot of it is down to the scanning.

  5. stephen says:

    can you really still buy film in Poundland? Just dusting off my Pentax ME Super for the first time since the 1980’s and want to check for light leaks!

    • Yes you can. Some stores sometimes run out, and occasionally people panic that it’s all over – but certainly, in all of the local stores that I’ve looked around here – there are stocks of AgfaPhoto Vista Plus 200 x 24

Leave a comment