35mm, Film, 35mm, and scans, Uncategorized, Yashica T2

Losing wind

New World

I tried doing something different.  I tried to give the home developed b/w film a rest, and to concentrate on using up some Poundland C41 colour 35mm film in the Yashica T2.

I don’t like it.  I don’t like the results.  That, combined with the winter light, work pressure, and lack of travel, has killed my photography.  I don’t like the results.  I’m finding myself looking at and appreciating more b/w film than ever.  I lost something.  I’m not going to abandon the Yashica T2 yet, but I’m abandoning the C41.  More Shanghai, Tmax, and Rollei film is on the way.  I miss my medium format as well.  The Bronica SQ-A is a great system camera – I want to use it again.

I’m not happy with my recent foray into C41 35mm.  I need to sniff fixer again.  All that it has taught me is to appreciate the beauty of b/w film photography more.

Above photo taken on the Yashica T2 and Poundland film in Norwich.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Losing wind

  1. I’ve got about 15 rolls of used “Poundland 200” in my fridge right now, and Santa send me some more Colortec C-41 chemicals… so I’m not going to give up on it yet. Honestly, I quite like Vista film, and it’s so cheap that you can afford to experiment and and play with it. Also, having taken the plunge into C-41 processing, I actually find working with colour more, as Digital ICE takes all the stress out of dust and minor scratching that you get when trying to wash and dry film in a fairly small house.

Leave a Reply

