35mm, wisbech

A mural

Wisbech – the New Europe.

I took this photograph last week in Wisbech.  I had the Yashica T2 AF compact camera loaded with cheap Kodak ColorPlus 200 film (given to me with some prints from a photolab).  I do not like C41, so I had the film processed at my local photolab.  Only £2.50 per film, develop only.  I have so much Poundland film to use up!

I’ve written extensively before, that Wisbech is a very much a part of the New EU England, with a very high percentage of immigration from Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Romania, Bulgaria, and Russia (or ethnic Russian).  Immigrants have been flooding to the area for quite a few years now, often attracted initially by the work in local agriculture, food packing, and general farm work, or food factory work.

As an amateur photographer, I see this as history in the making.   Something very worthy of recording, and it is about people.  The above photograph is of someone else’s mural and creativity, although I tried to add to that by capturing with the surroundings of the old Wisbech wall, with all of it’s features.

The mural itself shows the River Danube, sneaking through SE Europe, with the flags of Romania, Bulgaria, and Hungary added – the EU nations of SE Europe.  I don’t know if the artist has added any nationalist agendas to the mural.  Some of the names are in Cyrillic, maybe for the Bulgarians?The mural itself is painted on the rear of a “European” shop.  When it opens, I’ll have to pop in and find out more about it.

Standard

2 thoughts on “A mural

  1. Les Murdoch says:

    Reading this made me think of the issues of newcomers integrating with the local community. There are obvious issues when the newcomers are from a foreign land but sometimes overlooked are the attitudes to people from outwith the community but who are native to the country.

    Years ago I was teaching in a small village school in Lanarkshire (12 pupils) where it was customary for some of the old folks in the village to pop in for a chat and a coffee. One old boy appeared one day in high dudgeon. When I asked what was annoying him he said that he had just been asked to join the community council to represent the incomers. When I asked what was wrong with that he pointed out that he had lived in the village for 59 years!

    • That made me smile Les. I had a similar experience. I lived in Thetford for several years. The community back then was divided into “Old Thetfordians” who were local, Norfolk born, and “New Thetford” who were mainly from London, arriving as “overspill” with the Town Development Scheme. Even though many “New Theford’s” had lived there 25 or more years, I was called Old Thetford, even though I’d moved in from the other side of the County only recently.

Leave a Reply

