50p camera

Look where you are going

Cambridge. Olympus XA2. Kodak Tmax 400 film. Developed in LC29.

This one recently captured on a Kodak Tmax 400 film in my 50p camera, the Olympus XA2.  I liked the textures of the old brick and stone work, with the chain curtain hanging in the doorway, I saw the cyclist coming, so saw it as a chance to put some animation and Life into the frame.  I didn’t see him look at me until I scanned the developed film.

I can’t see no end to this 50p Camera Project, not unless I manage to smash the XA2 (I have dropped it several times).  Still, it continues to produce photography that I like – even if it is too lo-fi for the taste of the modern online crowds.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Look where you are going

  1. Johnny Rod says:

    The bike and buildings are a little bit of ‘omage to Henri Cartier Bresson, who’da thunk it, in the flatlands of Cambridgeshire on a 50p pocket camera? Excellent pics, TFP. You would appreciate the mini-rant Ming Thein had recently also about the futlity of equipment obsession. JR

    • I see myself more of a snap shooter than a streetie, but yeah, HCB is up there on my book shelves. I haven’t seen Ming Thein’s thoughts on the subject, but it has been a moan of mine for a good few year, and I’m seeing others also increasingly concerned. I guess horses for courses, I just hate it when I see so many sheeple drawn into a consumerism that doesn’t give them any thing. All this obsession about full frame and “upgrades”. Futile.

  2. Fred says:

    I’ve just treated myself to an XA2 for Christmas. I’ve always wanted one of these cameras since I was about 15 back in the 80’s, but never got around to buying one. I’m looking forward to carrying it around with me everywhere and getting some nice candid shots. I’m considering buying a couple of extra ones and giving them to my teenage kids in the hope that it will inspire them to take some proper photos. They’re about £20 a pop at the moment on ebay. Love your blog by the way.

Leave a Reply

